Copy Tracking Code

Prime Mover Magazine

Changes inbound for driver fatigue training

From 1 July, new units of competence for fatigue under the National Heavy Vehicle Accreditation Scheme (NHVAS) will start.

In 2017, the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator worked with the heavy vehicle industry and Australian Industry Standards to develop new fatigue units of competency for NHVAS participants to
effectively manage the risk of fatigue in road transport operations.

According to NHVR Fatigue Specialist, Andreas Blahous, any previously recognised fatigue management course that was completed prior to 1 July 2018 will still be accepted.

“This means nominated drivers and schedulers who are currently operating under a BFM or AFM accreditation do not need to complete the new units," said Blahous.

After 1 July,  the NHVR will only accept statements of attainment for training in the new fatigue units of competency from Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) approved by the NHVR.

"RTOs should apply for NHVR approval now so that their training in the new fatigue units of
competency (TLIF0005 and TLIF0006) can be accepted for NHVAS accreditation purposes," the NHVR said in a statement.

Featured Article

  • advertisement
  • Click here to join the CRT network today
  • Keep up to date on the latest news and developments in the commercial road transport industry. Sign up to CRT News today to receive a FREE weekly E-newsletter delivered straight to your inbox.

  • advertisement

© Copyright 2019 Prime Creative Media. All rights reserved.

Find us on Google+