Copy Tracking Code

Prime Mover Magazine

VTA announces 2017 AFIA winners

The Victorian Transport Association (VTA) has announced the winners of the 2017 Australian Freight Industry Awards (AFIA), an event that has recognised excellence in the freight and logistics industry for 28 years.

The ‘Personality of the Year’ Award was presented to Deakin University’s Dr Hermione Parsons, Rocke Brothers’ Matt Simmons took home the ‘Young Achiever of the Year’ and the ‘Waste & Recycling’ accolade went to FBT Transwest.

There were two winners for the ‘Application of Technology’ Award: Redstar Transport and Victoria International Container Terminal.

Metropolitan Express Transport Services was awarded for ‘Best Practice Safety’ and DP World Australia accepted the ‘Investment in People’ Award.

VTA CEO, Peter Anderson, announced the winners, who were presented with their award by VTA President, Cameron Dunn, and the Treasurer of Victoria, Tim Pallas.

“We once again had a very enthusiastic response to these awards from the industry, as evidenced by the dozens of applications judges assessed in determining the winners,” said Anderson. “Congratulations to all the winners and finalists on their tremendous achievements, and for working to continually improve the standards of our industry which helps to make it safer and more productive.”

Addressing his first AFIA presentation as President of the VTA, Dunn said that it has been a challenging year for freight operators, and that the VTA was working hard to obtain meaningful outcomes for members. “As an industry association, we exist to service the needs of our members, and of course advocate for the best interests of the industry,” he said. “The VTA is pursuing many endeavours to improve and enhance economic, regulatory and other conditions for operators, and I would like to congratulate the VTA secretariat for their achievements, in what has been a challenging year.

“As operators, we are well-aware of the pressures we face from rising costs and smaller margins. The VTA has been strongly advocating for conditions that help to ease these pressures, and give operators every chance of success.

“On behalf of the Executive Council of the VTA, congratulations to all the winners, and thanks to every organisation that submitted a nomination.”

(image: L to R: VTA CEO Peter Anderson, Treasurer of Victoria Tim Pallas, Dr Hermione Parsons and VTA President Cameron Dunn.)

Featured Article

  • Inside Volvo’s Dynamic Steering system

    Inside Volvo’s Dynamic Steering system

    After their introduction at the ITTES 2014 in Melbourne, Volvo’s updated FE, FM and FMX models now share an option with the top-of-the-range FH – Volvo Dynamic Steering. What’s behind the new technology?

    Read Story

  • advertisement
  • Click here to join the CRT network today
  • Keep up to date on the latest news and developments in the commercial road transport industry. Sign up to CRT News today to receive a FREE weekly E-newsletter delivered straight to your inbox.

  • advertisement

© Copyright 2018 Prime Creative Media. All rights reserved.

Find us on Google+