Copy Tracking Code

Prime Mover Magazine

Young Driver Award nominations open

The Livestock, Bulk and Rural Carriers Association (LBRCA) has opened nominations for its 2018 LBRCA Young Driver Award (YDA).

Nominations are open to young truck drivers aged 21-35 who demonstrate a best practice approach to driving and safety.

The winner will receive a $5,000 trip to the US, and will be a role model for the rural transport industry, and will help to promote rural transport as a viable, long-term career choice for young people.

“Rural transport is an essential service and we have an aging workforce," said LBRCA President, Lynley Miners.

"Without rural transporters, Australian produce wouldn’t get from the farm gate to the table. The job is a lot more challenging than people realise – the hours are long, the work can be dangerous, and compliance can be complicated.”

“The LBRCA Young Driver Award, now in its fourth year, recognises our top young drivers and showcases their commitment to safety and best practice. It’s something we should all strive for and be proud of."

“I like to think an award like this will help encourage other young people to join our industry. After all it’s a great job to have,” said inaugural YDA winner from 2015, Raymond ‘Reggie’ Sutton.

“An industry where no two days are the same and you get to meet a range of people along the way. Plus, I get to explore this great country and get paid for doing so.

“And, sometimes as young operators we get under estimated. But we’re serious about our industry and about protecting the future of it.

“We know we can’t get food to the supermarket shelves without trucks, so we’d better make sure we have some people to drive the trucks in the future and that means getting younger people involved now.”

Nominations are open until Friday 16 February 2018, with the award presented at the LBRCA and ALRTA Combined National Conference in Coffs Harbour, 23 -24 March 2018.

Further information and nomination forms are available from the LBRCA by calling 02 6295 6651 or emailing

(Image L-R: LBRCA President Lynley Miners, Inaugural LBRCA YDA award winner Reggie Sutton, LBRCA life member Barney Hayes, LBRCA Immediate Past President Jock Carter and Jeremy Whyte from SafeWork NSW (formally NSW WorkCover).)

Featured Article

  • advertisement
  • Click here to join the CRT network today
  • Keep up to date on the latest news and developments in the commercial road transport industry. Sign up to CRT News today to receive a FREE weekly E-newsletter delivered straight to your inbox.

  • advertisement

© Copyright 2018 Prime Creative Media. All rights reserved.

Find us on Google+